The Western Walk

Today is my first Saturday since I finished exams! Still knocking on wood, waiting for the marks but so far things are going good (in case you’re wondering). Also for your information, as I am done school for the time being I will most likely be talking about my summer job, my hobbies, and my adventures over the next little bit. I’d love it if you would stay tuned for it but, I get if it’s not your jam! Today I thought I’d start by posting something pretty different. You probably don’t know that I love poetry and art (seeing as how I haven’t talked about it on here yet). So, without further ado I present, a poem. Hope you like it:

 

The Western Walk

 

Down many road,

Past many rest.

My feet are dragged

Forever west.

These ragged bones,

These tired veins

Guide me to

A better place.

 

Though every step

A mortal blow,

My mind can’t change

It’s set in stone.

Each path I take

Will lead me home,

A better place

No ragged bones.

 

But time won’t

Save me still.

This wandering soul

Will not be killed.

The wind and rain

Will write my bill,

For weather worn

My veins still thrill.

 

When home at last,

My burden gone,

Time will surely

Not go on.

No ragged bones,

No tired veins,

Only peace

Will remain.

 

xx.

7 comments

  1. autumnsinnerthoughts · April 29

    Wow this is really good!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vinay C · April 29

    The poem was awesome! Amazingly expressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pavinganopinion · April 30

    This flowed really nicely, I hope to catch more poems during your “break!!” 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erika D. · April 30

      Thanks! I hope to be writing more poetry over my time off, I really let writing go onto the back burner while school was crazy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

